#4348 Premium



1911 Seattle Craftsman in prime location


House • Seattle WA United States

    6 Guests  
    3 Bedrooms  
    4 Beds  
    2.5 Bathrooms  
    1 Car space 
    1 Car available  
    Primary home  

Exchange types accepted

    Simultaneous  

Statistics

Listed  September 2019
Views  363
Response rate  75%

General overview

We recently completed an extensive remodel of our lovely 1911 Craftsman home. There is an open floor plan, brand-new kitchen and bathroom appliances, and new windows and doors (and a skylight) that contribute to a sense of spaciousness and light.

The space

Our home has three bedrooms, 2.5 bathrooms, and a beautiful deck, just off the kitchen, with great territorial views toward Capitol Hill and the University of Washington.

Guest access

By Seattle standards, our house is easily accessible (though not wheelchair accessible). The main living room, dining room, kitchen, powder room, and master bedroom suite (including a full bath and laundry) are located on the first floor. The lower level includes a large family room with television, an office area, two bedrooms and a full bath.

Notes

Despite being in such a central location, the neighborhood is very green and quiet, with numerous parks and walking paths.

Features

Cupboard / drawers
Fireplace
Heating
Iron
Washer
TV
WiFi
Towels
Bed sheets
Fire extinguisher
Smoke alarms
Dishwasher
Clothes dryer
BBQ
Fridge
Oven
Microwave

Travel styles

    Long term
    Family
    Romantic
    Foodie
    Relaxing
    City
    Culture
    Good public transport

House rules

    Suitable for infants under 2
    Suitable for children ages 2-12
    Pets not allowed
    No smoking

Neighbourhood

Our home is located in a very sought-after, central Seattle neighborhood called Madrona. We live a mile from Capitol Hill and the Washington Arboretum, 2.5 miles from Pike Market and the University of Washington, and three miles from Seattle Center (the Space Needle)--all very walkable and easily accessible via bus. We live on the top of the hill above Lake Washington--10 blocks from beautiful Madrona beach (a lovely walk via wooded trails and pathways) and a three-minute walk from Madrona Center, home to numerous shops and restaurants.

Getting around

We are open to including a car in the exchange.

This member has chosen to hide their location from non-members and members without active listings.

Feedback

Member feedback is unavailable to non-members and members without active listings.

Premium


Ellen and Mike

Seattle, Washington
Joined September 2019
Response rate 75%
LGBTQ+ friendly  
Travelling group
Member description
We are a middle-aged couple who are lucky enough to have a 4-month sabbatical beginning April, 2020. Mike (58) is the head of an independent school and Ellen (58) is a clinical social worker (who is taking some time off at the moment). We have 3 young adult children (ages 29, 27, and 22) whom we hope might join us for a visit (with or without their partners) at some point during our sabbatical. Our daughter is preparing to move from Thailand to Montreal, Canada, to start a new job with an environmental non-profit. We have two sons, one of whom currently teaches high school science here in Seattle, and one who is a senior in college (in Colorado). We also have a very sweet, gentle dog rescued from Tehran (at least that's what we were told!) named Cora (whom we anticipate will stay elsewhere during our sabbatical). Our goal is to find an exchange in New York City for mid-April through mid-May, 2020 (about a month) and then to find a second exchange (or two) for June and July. Our current thinking is that we'd love to be in the UK--England, Scotland, Ireland, or Wales--or somewhere in Scandinavia, including Copenhagen or Amsterdam, but we are open to considering other destinations in Central or South America (particularly in bigger metropolitan areas--Mexico City, for example). Japan is also an interesting possibility.
Login or Register to contact this member.

Desired destinations


Open to any destination

Availability calendar

Calendars are hidden from non-members and members without active listings.