Holiday with People Like Us

Join hundreds of our members in the world's fastest growing Home Swap network.

    Colorful Colorado (Denver) Unique, Modern Barn in Napa Valley Mountainside townhouse steps to hiking, 1 hour to Vancouver 1 Bed Apartment, Ipswich East Cosy family home in rural Alsace - Lush vineyards and great history to discover Appartement en périphérie de Colmar Georgian Apartment in the City Centre Inbetween Brisbane and the Gold Coast Beautiful, warm Akumal, Mexico! Large family house with garden, Dunkirk beach proximity Quiet garden oasis opposite the beach Central home in Normandy Remote Paradise in Fiji Large young family home, 2 acres, huge deck, relax and enjoy Une jolie maison colorée avec vue sur le volcan et non loin des plus belles plages Studio cabine à 450m du port et de la plage Family fun in Sydney SEA AND CAKE Jolie maison familiale en Auvergne Petit chalet dans un hameau de Courchevel Family friendly, cozy home Ocean view home in San Clemente, California Surfers Paradise waterfront living Bamberg in Francinia world heritage town Huge Tudor Style House in Cinderella Town next to Hamburg Large comfortable home - Scottish Highlands adjacent to World famous Royal Dornoch Golf Course and ON the World famous NC 500 ! 1 bedroom family home in very central location Historic Home in the Heart of Walla Walla Wine Country Venez découvrir le Nord de la Bretagne! maison à 5mns à pied de la mer. Hello from Stockholm, Sweden! My rooms in the heart of Rome Cosy apartment with spectacular views Tropical Traditional Japanese Home Beautiful Garden House - A Short Train Ride to Boston Barcelona - family friendly home Plenty of space close to city and beach 2nd Home in Cedar City near Zion, Grand Canyon, Bryce Canyon, and Cedar Breaks National Parks Red Rocks of Southern Utah and Zion In the McLaren Vale wine district. Your home away from home in Granada Old restaured house near a lake & a river : open for offers during 2020 Fabulous location. Upmarket Armadale in Melbourne. Just renovated. Lovely 4-bed home with garden near the Surrey Hills, within easy reach of London Renovated funky Country Aussie Miners cottage We look for a swap during Easter. Ireland, Londen, denmark Ruime flat 114m2

Large Historic Home - just a short train ride outside of NYC!

House
South Orange NJ United States

14 Guests   6 Bedrooms   3.5 Bathrooms   Pets welcome  3 Car spaces  1 Car available  

Primary home  
Exchange type Simultaneous  Non-simultaneous  Non-reciprocal  Hospitality 
Views 301
Response rate 100%

*25 minute direct train to mid-town Manhattan NYC! *Lively town with many shops, restaurants, theaters *Large historic home with in-ground pool

The space

Our home in South Orange, New Jersey is just a short ride from midtown Manhattan, New York City. It dates to the 1880's and is a key property on the National Registry of Historic Buildings. Although just a 25 minute train ride from Manhattan, NYC, the property has a private in-ground pool and garden area. Our first floor includes a library, dining room, living room, kitchen, and formal entry hall. We just completed a large renovation and created a gourmet kitchen with a custom designed french Lacanche Range, marble countertops, a butlers pantry with wine fridge and an eat-in breakfast nook. The second floor has three bedrooms. The master bedroom with a queen bed and full bath is on this floor along with a queen guest room and a third bedroom with a queen size bed plus a small pull out sofa. A separate third floor has three bedrooms, each with a full-size bed. This third floor can be closed off and offered to guests as a separate area. In addition to its own bathroom, with a shower and claw-foot tub, there is a small area on this separate level that has a small kitchenette area (with sink, microwave, and compact refrigerator), a daybed and a TV. We are happy to offer our third floor as a hospitality suite. The front of our house has a deep wrap around porch that is a wonderful spot to enjoy your morning coffee or afternoon cocktails. The porch is furnished with outdoor furniture and a double porch swing. The gardener will come once per week to care for the yard and a cleaning/maid service is available to assist you. The vehicle available for exchange includes a BMW x3. The outdoor garden area includes a private in-ground pool with chaise lounges, a dining area and an outdoor grill. We also have a basement level one bedroom apartment with a separate entrance at the rear of the house that can be made available for non-simultaneous exchanges.

Guest access

Our house is 3 stories, requiring quite a bit of stair climbing.

Notes

We also have a basement level one bedroom apartment with a separate entrance at the rear of the house that can be made available for non-simultaneous exchanges. We can also offer our separate third-floor area which can be closed off for privacy but allows us to offer an exchange to families while we are living in our main home and unable to travel. We have quite a bit of flexibility in accommodations -- just ask!


Features
Air conditioning
Cupboard/drawers
Pool
Fireplace
Hair dryer
Heating
Iron
Washer
TV
WiFi
Workspace
Towels
Bed sheets
Soap
Toilet paper
Fire extinguisher
Smoke alarms
First aid kit
Dishwasher
Clothes dryer
BBQ
Fridge
Oven
Microwave

House rules
No smoking
Pets welcome
Suitable for infants under 2
Suitable for children ages 2-12

Neighbourhood

We live in a New York City suburban town that allows for easy access to Manhattan as well as the New Jersey beach areas. Our town has many nice shops, a theater, several pubs and cafes, many nice restaurants and several art galleries. We are a short walk or quick drive to a commuter train that will take you to midtown Manhattan, NYC within 25 minutes. During the summer months, you can also drive and spend a pleasant day at the New Jersey beach shore to enjoy the beautiful waters of the Atlantic Ocean. It is also possible to take trips to Washington, DC, Philadelphia, or Boston.

Getting around

NYC is best reaches by train. We can also Include a vehicle in the exchange for travel around NJ or to points further away.


Login or Register to see this home's location on a map.


Login or Register to see reviews for this home.

Jennifer
South Orange, NJ
Joined January 2019
Response rate 100%
Member description
Jerry and I (Jen) are both attorneys. Jerry works in a private firm handling various civil matters and I am employed as a Child Advocate. We have three older children, Chloe who is 22 years old, Patrick who is 21 years old and Katie who is 17 years old. We have had many very successful home exchanges (France, Ireland (2 x), Spain, Costa Rica, Arizona, West Virginia, Seattle, British Columbia, Florida (3 x), Martinique, Iceland, South Africa) as well as hospitality exchanges (Costa Rica, Spain, Croatia and France, USA multiple times) and are looking forward to the opportunity to arrange our next exchange soon. We have thoroughly enjoyed all of our past exchanges and are adventurous and resourceful travelers. We are always seeking our next exchange! We can always be tempted by unique and interesting locations!

Desired destinations


Open to any destination

Destination flexible
Dates flexible

Florida (Flexible)
Dates flexible

Destination flexible
Dates flexible

People Like Us home exchange
Facebook Group · 3070 members
Join Group
Join our Facebook group to advertise your listing, swap stories and chat to other People Like Us members.

Login or Register to see availability and make an offer for this home.