Holiday with People Like Us

Join hundreds of our members in the world's fastest growing Home Swap network.

    Huge Tudor Style House in Cinderella Town next to Hamburg 2 bed flat romford. London Riverside two bedroom apartment with excellent transport links MORGANTOWN Beach House~Excellent Gulf Views, Fort Morgan, Alabama Surrounded by gardens and mature trees A deux pas des plages sur la Côte de Granit Rose - Near beaches in the Pink Granit Coast Gated 5-Star Luxury * Beach * 4 Pools * Spa * Beach Club Sea and montain, close to San Sebastian Large home in vibrant village 20 min north of San Francisco Jacky's at Mossel Bay Brest is the best Spacious 3 BR apartment in the ♡ of hip Oslo area Large Family Home with Pool Bienvenue sous le soleil de Provence! Beautiful Swiss scenery (Montreaux area) Maison de village atypique Surprise... it's in Arizona! Beautiful family home with 4 bedrooms in the center of Liège Charming 4 ½ bedroom cottage in Sweden with 13 beds - ideal for the big family ❤ FREE all year ! Amazing "Riad" House - Old Médina of Marrakech :o) Wooden, renovated house downtown Oslo Sydney Townhouse with Harbour Views Close to Everything Comfortable home in quiet location. Great modern house close to the seaside Accueil chaleureux au ♥ de Bruxelles / Warm welcome in the ♥ of Brussels 362 Mitchell Road Maison proche Bordeaux avec piscine chauffée FREE all year ! Central PARIS - LE MARAIS - Totally renovated ! Ideal holiday home Central Apartment facing Big Cathedral of Rouen - Antiques shops area Comfortable beach side home Maison restaurée tout près de la Vézère et d'un lac de baignade proche d'Uzerche Modern & Chic Apartment with Pool In UNESCO Monferrato Hills town a cozy big hause Copenhagen in Dragør South Beach Bright and new appartment close to the centre and the beach. Garden Show at the Unicorn town Home sweet home Beautiful leafy home in upper North Shore Sydney SEA AND CAKE Maison au coeur d'un village près de Quimper Between Avignon and famous vineyards of Chateauneuf du Pape - Cosy Villa with Pool & Garden Recent home in the Loire valley near Tours (free during the "short" holidays : no summer exchanges) FRANCE/AUVERGNE Authentic french countryside Large young family home, 2 acres, huge deck, relax and enjoy

Welcome to Hamburg!

House
Hamburg • Germany

7 Guests   4 Bedrooms   2.0 Bathrooms   2 Car spaces 

Swap types: Simultaneous Hospitality
97 Views
Response rate: 100%

Login or Register to see detailed descriptions of this home.


Features
Cupboard/drawers
Hair dryer
Heating
Iron
Washer
TV
WiFi
Workspace
Towels
Bed sheets
Soap
Toilet paper
Smoke alarms
First aid kit

Travel styles
Family
Sport and leisure
Foodie
City
Beach
Water
Culture
Cycling

House rules
No smoking
Pets not allowed
Suitable for infants under 2
Suitable for children ages 2-12

Neighbourhood

We live in a nice and green area of Hamburg between the picturesque Blankenese and bustling Altona, 3,5km away from the Elbe river with its beaches and a ferry station. It is possible to walk or bike down to the river – your route leads you through parks, almost all the way. A huge shopping mall and a bus stop serving many lines are within 500 metres distance. The metrostation (2km distance) can be reached by bus and you can take trains every ten minutes into the city center. It takes 8 min. to Ottensen, a bustling area full of small shops, restaurants and bars, 15 min. to the famous Reeperbahn and Landungsbrücken (the entry of the harbor, one of the biggest in the world) and 20 min. to the main train station. If you prefer to bike into the center, it's a beautiful ride along the river (10km). 200m behind our house is a park for the quick morning run. Hamburg as Germany's second biggest city (1,8 Million people live here) is a great spot for all kinds of cultural activities. What we also enjoy is the variety of outdoor activities it offers. The Elbe river divides Hamburg into a northern and southern part and right in the center you find a big lake-looking river, the Alster. Whenever the sun comes out, people walk, skate, run, or bike along the Elbe, the Alster, or in one of the many parks, or engage in water activities such as sailing and canoeing.

Getting around

If you plan trips to the seaside - beaches of the baltic sea or the North Sea (including the Unesco World Heritage Wadden Sea) can be reached in 1-2 hours! Within two hours by train you'll be able to visit Berlin. Reviews from members of Homeexchange invited by Concha (Andalusia) for 11 days in September/October 2018: Muchas gracias por todo,ha sido un placer alojaros en nuestra casa, han sido muy respetuosos y han dejado nuestra casa muy limpia y ordenada. Estais invitados para cuando querais volver a visitarnos. Un abrazo. Concha Review from Concha, October 2017: Querida Andrea y Stephan, queremos agradeceros la amabilidad y los detalles que habéis tenido para con nosotros. Hemos pasado unas vacaciones estupendas visitando Hamburgo y sus alrrededores, nos ha encantado esta ciudad y sus gentes. La casa es estupenda con todo lo que puedas necesitar y muy bién situada. Sin duda os la recomiendo. Un abrazo Concha y Alberto Invited by Eva (Arhus) for 3 days in May 2018: We hosted Andrea, Stephan and their children while spending a long weekend in our summer cottage ourselves. Such a nice family: They even baked cake on our arrival back home! Everything was clean and tidy - now we're looking very much forward to hopefully doing an exchange, where we can spend some time in lovely Hamburg. They get the best recommendations from us! Review from Balázs (Hungary, 17 days, July/August 2017): Dear Andrea and Stephan, we enjoyed our stay in Groß-Flottbek in your comfortable, roomy and tasty equipped house, thanks a lot! We had everything we needed for a 2 week holiday with 3 children. My favorite was your claret living room with your books and magazines, the children preferred the kid corner and your go-kart (and your trampoline of course!). The neighborhood in Groß-Flottbek is great: lot of green parks, playgrounds (we loved Elbe Aktív Spielplatz), Jenischpark, the Elbe and the huge ships... We've tried the ferries to the center of Hamburg, I think this is a must-try for everyone. And Hamburg is a great city! And thanks for the sweets and the coffee!:-) Review from Sonja (Arhus, 5 days, October 2016): we spent autumn- holiday in Andrea and Stephans nice and colorful home. We immediatly felt at home, and Andrea was very helpful about everything, the exchange was totally uncomplicated. We spent some time biking around in the green neighbourhood and down to the Elben, and it was also very easy to get to Hamborg center with u-bahn or our private car. Hamburg is very interesting, with beautiful old buildings and areas, and also very modern. We spent days visiting museums and strolling around between cafes and went shopping with and our teenage daughters. Review from Elorri (San Sebastian, 17days, August 2016): We had a wonderful Exchange in Hamburg. Andrea and Stephan's house is very nice, very spacious, and very confortable. It's a very nice, friendly and warm family. We used their bikes to ride round Elbe river and to visit all Hamburg. We spend a very nice holiday. The location is very good, near the train station to go to Hamburg and near from the shopping centre. Hamburg is a very nice town with a lots of things to do. We also take the opportunity to see Berlin, and other villages near Hamburg like Lübeck, Lünenberg or Cuxhaven. Definitely, a really nice holiday, and a really nice family. Review from Jonny (Luxemburg, 8 days, May 2016): This was a wonderful exchange: a perfect introduction (for us) into the world of Home Exchanging! Andrea and Stephan's home in Hamburg is exactly how they describe it: spacious yet cosy; warm and tastefully decorated; and full of things to keep the kids entertained for hours, days and weeks. We truly loved every minute that we spent there. The location is also great: just a few steps away from a shopping centre and bus stop, from where the whole of Hamburg just lay waiting to be explored. There is simply so much to see and do in Hamburg that, despite five days of non-stop sightseeing, we feel that we have only seen a tiny fraction of what this marvellous city has to offer. Best of all, we had the chance to get to know Andrea, Stephan and their lovely family personally. I'm sure we'll stay in touch and see each other again sometime. Review from Mette (Arhus, 4 days, May 2016) Everything went fine. We enjoyed our stay in Andrea and Stephans lovely and spacious house with a wonderful spirit. We enjoyed this part of Hamburg - green, close to the river Elbe but still close to the center of Hamburg. And the family is very friendly and ready to help in any case. We would love to make another swap. Our reviews from Rosa (Granada), Barbara (Amsterdam), Lars (Vejle, Denmark) and Hervé (Provence) are missing, they got lost during the merger of gtg and HE...


Login or Register to see this home's location on a map.


Login or Register to see reviews for this home.

Andrea
Hamburg, Germany
We are a family of five: Stephan and I, Andrea are both journalists, our children are 19, 14 and 10 years old. Nowadays mainly only four of us travel as our eldest studies in another city.

Desired destinations


Open to any destination

Rome
Mar 2 - 17, 2019 (Flexible)
"Would love to travel with my family (my husband, my daughter, 14, and my son, 10) for 7-9 days"

Israel
Mar 2 - 17, 2019 (Flexible)
""Would love to travel with my family (my husband, my daughter, 14, and my son, 10) for 7-9 days""

People Like Us home exchange
Facebook Group · 1332 members
Join Group
Join our Facebook group to advertise your listing, swap stories and chat to other People Like Us members.

Login or Register to see availability and make an offer for this home.