#8546 100% Premium

Spacious Queenslander in leafy inner Brisbane location - no car required!


    6 Guests  
    3 Bedrooms  
    3 Beds  
    1.5 Bathrooms  
    1 Car space 
    Primary home  

    Simultaneous  
    Non-simultaneous  
    Non-reciprocal  

Listed  April 2021
Views  69
Response rate  100%

Our home is a beautiful, spacious 1930 traditional house known as a ‘Queenslander’. It’s a family home that has been partially renovated. It’s not perfect but it’s pretty charming and you will love the convenient location and easy access to central Brisbane.

We have plenty of living spaces that flow into each other through French doors: a large living room/study, a central lounge room with large screen TV, an open plan dining room and kitchen. Bifold doors open up the dining room to a large covered deck with outdoor dining for 8, a vintage cane sofa and gas Webber BBQ. Our three bedrooms have all been freshly painted and refurbished and contain storage for your belongings. Two have Queen sized beds and the other a double - all are very comfortable and we provide quality bamboo linen. We are keen home cooks and you will find everything you need to prepare meals in our spacious kitchen, including access to a wide range of spices and other pantry staples. Not forgetting our Breville dual boiler coffee maker! Our house sits in the middle of an established landscaped garden, including a lawn area and a small vegetable garden. Pick your own herbs, including rosemary, sage, thyme, mint, basil, oregano, Vietnamese mint and curry leaves. The garden provides the house with great privacy and shade and you will have a leafy view from almost every window. The house has excellent eco credentials for comfortable, low carbon living; a large solar rooftop array means we export around 4x as much power to the grid as we use. The kitchen contains a compost caddy for transporting food scraps to our garden compost bin and a large container for recyclables. We have a rainwater tank for garden use and our location on top of a hill, along with the Queenslander design of the house, provides excellent cross-ventilation. We rarely use the air conditioner, as natural breezes and ceiling fans generally keep things comfortable. The north facing deck was designed with a split roof to allow winter sunshine onto the deck and into the house, with plenty of shade in summer. If you have children of the right age please note we have an extensive Lego collection, as well as many kids books, games and other toys to keep them playing happily!

Access to the house from the street includes a flight of 6 stairs. There are more stairs from the deck to the garden and in the garden, which is on two levels.

The washing machine and dryer are located under the house. Please note that our windows are not screened and you may find the odd mosquito inside in summer, mostly at night. We use our bedroom ceiling fans to ensure that we aren’t bothered at night. We recommend using mosquito deterrents in the evenings on the deck and/or shutting the bifold doors at dusk. We have insect repellent available for your use and other deterrents, such as candles and coils. Brisbane is subtropical and there are insects and other wildlife, e.g. possums, lizards, brush turkeys, geckos, orb spiders (outside only and non-venomous!), beetles, butterflies and birds. All this and only 5kms to the city!

Air conditioning
Cupboard / drawers
Hair dryer
Heating
Iron
Washer
TV
WiFi
Workspace
Towels
Bed sheets
Smoke alarms
First aid kit
Dishwasher
Clothes dryer
BBQ
Fridge
Oven
Microwave
Garden / yard
Deck / patio / courtyard / terrace
Covered porch / verandah

    Weekend
    Budget
    Family
    Sport and leisure
    Foodie
    Relaxing
    Eco
    City
    Culture
    Cycling
    Good public transport

Single level 
Accessible bedroom 
Handheld shower 
Accessible kitchen access 

    Suitable for infants under 2
    Suitable for children ages 2-12
    Pets not allowed
    No smoking

    Cat free
    Dog free
    Smoke free
    Fragrance free

Annerley is an inner city neighbourhood that is currently gentrifying. Right now there is still a diverse collection of interesting shops, including antiques, ‘opportunity shops’, cafes, restaurants, pharmacies, bakery and a supermarket all less than a 5 minute walk. Two minutes walk down our street is a great park with playground including a flying fox. Neighbouring suburbs include Woolloongabba, West End and Yeronga. We are short bike ride from the Brisbane River and close to many areas of interest, including South Bank and the Brisbane cultural centre.

Coming from the airport the quickest and simplest route is via the Airportlink M7 tunnel and Clem 7 tunnels. Be aware that the tunnels are toll roads. You will come out on Ipswich Rd, continue straight for about 5 minutes before doing a u-turn at Venner Rd and turning into our street. If you use a toll road in Brisbane and you don’t have an account you have 3 days to pay the toll. The Queensland provider is Linkt. If coming on the M3 from the Gold Coast, take the Juliette St exit and turn left at Juliette St. Turn left at Ipswich Rd and do a u-turn at Venner Rd to enter our street. It usually takes less than 5 minutes to reach our house from the M3.

Brisbane international and domestic airports are only 20 minutes drive away via the toll road tunnels.

You will be spoiled for choice with public transport options. The nearest bus stop is 115m away and buses on many routes pass by. Walk a couple of hundred metres further and you will reach a bus stop where buses stop every couple of minutes, on average. Any north bound bus will take you to the city, with many passing through Southbank, South Brisbane and past many of the hospitals (PA, Mater, Queensland Children’s Hospital) on the way. If you walk down our street and through two parks (a 7 minute walk) you will reach Fairfield train station. Trains come through at least every 5 minutes at peak times. A full size supermarket, pharmacies, a bakery, cafes, restaurants, shops and medical centres are all within a 5 minute walk of the house.

This member has chosen to hide their location from non-Premium members.

Member feedback is only available to Premium members.
100% Premium

Tamara

Brisbane, Australia
Joined August 2018
Response rate 100%
LGBTQ+ friendly  
Travelling group
Member description
We are a friendly and responsible family of four who are all very keen travellers. We were lucky to spend most of 2019 travelling around the world, meeting new people and discovering amazing places. We are: Tamara and James - both of us public servants working for the Australian Federal Government - and Eliane and Maille - currently secondary and primary school students. We have a Green Cheek Conure called Amber, who completes our family.
Login or Register to contact this member.

Desired Destinations


Open to any destination

Availability calendar

Calendars are only available for Premium members.