#8190 100% Premium

Spacious 1913 Craftsman Retreat in the Heart of Los Angeles - 20 minutes to beaches


    8 Guests  
    4 Bedrooms  
    5 Beds  
    4 Bathrooms  
    Pets welcome
    1 Car space 
    1 Car available  
    Primary home  

    Simultaneous  
    Non-reciprocal  

Listed  December 2020
Views  387
Response rate  100%

Our home is in central Los Angeles, close to downtown and 15-30 minutes to beaches including Santa Monica, Venice and Malibu. Lots of hiking possibilities and all that Los Angeles has to offer in the Santa Monica mountains and Angeles National Forest. Restored 1913 Craftsman, bohemian eclectic feel, bright and sunny. Having a car would be ideal to get around Southern California. We have an Infinity QX70 we would consider lending out. We do have public transportation, but it's not as robust and speedy as in other cities or Europe, and doesn't go everywhere. So many hiking and beach opportunities here, and there are two dog beaches within about 30 minutes that are really fun. Other outings: Pasadena, and Huntington Botanical Gardens; Griffith Park Observatory and hiking; Newport and Laguna Beach; Downtown Los Angeles; Santa Barbara and Ojai; Wine Tasting near Santa Barbara, Los Olivos and Santa Maria; Three hours gets you to San Louis Obispo and also Hearst Castle (not sure if open during pandemic); and Yosemite is about a four hour drive; Monterey five hours; San Francisco under six; San Diego two hours; Joshua Tree National Park about 2.5 hours. Restaurants have in-person dining on hold right now but may open up outdoor dining soon. We will provide you with lots of information on the local beaches, hiking spots, restaurants and other outings to help make it easier for you to navigate because there is so much to choose from! 3 bedroom + playroom (or 4th bedroom) plus office, large living room and dining room, piano, beautiful large open kitchen, office and television room, perfect for families with children. Back yard plus a trampoline in the front. Lots of space to spread out. Wonderful claw foot tubs. In the heart of central Los Angeles, right next to historic Windsor Hills and Leimert Park. 15 minutes drive to the beach (Marina del Rey and Playa del Rey) or 25 minutes to Venice, Santa Monica and a little further to beautiful Malibu along the Pacific Coast Highway. 12 minutes to downtown Los Angeles. Lots of gorgeous hiking and outdoor spaces within 30 minutes. Huge beautiful park 10 minutes away, Kenneth Hahn state recreational area. Fruit trees and vegetables in front and back (avocado, white mulberry, plum, lemon, satsuma, plus seasonal veggies and herbs) and the rest of our garden is watered with our gray water system from the showers and bath. Washer dryer, gas appliances, heating, air conditioning on the second floor but usually not needed. Large flat screen televisions upstairs and downstairs with Sonos sound system, Netflix, Prime, HBO MAX, Hulu.

Hardwood floors throughout, both children's bedrooms have organic queen size mattresses, the master bedroom has a king bed with soy latex mattress. We also have two extra twin mattresses and frames that could be set up in the playroom or meditation room. We would be willing to install baby gates at the top and bottom of the indoor stairs if you have a toddler. Ceiling fans throughout upstairs. Second master bedroom is now a playroom and office. Both masters have their own bathroom with a shower and then there is a large main bathroom on the second floor with shower and a 6-ft claw foot tub. Front porch for lounging and large dining table in open living and dining room area. Kitchen is large and bright and perfect for cooking. Cozy downstairs TV room area with couch that holds four people comfortably, or great to stretch out on to read. Two desks (one up, one down) plus small wall desks in children's rooms. Small meditation room on second floor.

Two stories, plus a few steps to get to front porch. Could go up driveway through side yard to back door and avoid steps. Slight elevation to back door on first floor includes a ramp. Staircase to get upstairs to second floor.

We are looking for swaps of approx 3-8 weeks in a more RURAL area during the pandemic, but are also open to a few cities. We need to stay within a few hours of the US Pacific time zone for now (husband will be working from home, and aren't ready to travel by plane yet until the pandemic is more under control and we are all vaccinated). Later we would love to travel anywhere. The availability of our home is dependent on what we find elsewhere and for how long. We are looking for the general time frame of June/July 2021 to start. We have one car we'd like to leave here (indoor/outdoor but always in at night) if that would be agreeable. We have two dogs we will likely take with us or leave with a relative, but are open to discussing swapping pet care. If you are traveling away from the house for overnights, we can make arrangements for the cat to be cared for by neighbors.

Air conditioning
Cupboard / drawers
Hair dryer
Heating
Iron
Washer
TV
WiFi
Workspace
Towels
Bed sheets
Fire extinguisher
Smoke alarms
First aid kit
Dishwasher
Clothes dryer
Fridge
Oven
Microwave
Garden / yard

    Long term
    Weekend
    Family
    Romantic
    Foodie
    Relaxing
    Eco
    Luxury
    City
    Mountains
    Beach
    Hiking

    Suitable for infants under 2
    Suitable for children ages 2-12
    Pets welcome
    No smoking

    Smoke free
    Fragrance free

Many smaller businesses nearby are closed due to the metro construction and pandemic. Still some great places to get take-away food but best if you have a car. Many delivery services will bring food and groceries. Ralph's grocery store nearby but prefer the one about ten minutes away. They also do curbside pickup during the pandemic if you prefer to order groceries online. If you drive you can get to lots of stores and restaurants within about ten minutes. Culver City, Westchester, Marina del Rey, Playa Vista all very close with a great variety of places to choose from. There are parks nearby here but any official dog parks are about a ten minute drive (Playa Vista, and Glen Alla are our go-to's). Kenneth Hahn state recreational area is about seven minutes away. Very large park with views of the city, hiking trails, wide open grassy areas, gorgeous location and so close!

Bus lines within two blocks, uncertain of running time during pandemic. Metro line will eventually run from airport but currently under construction. You can take buses to get to other metro lines to go to Santa Monica, or take bus downtown to Union Station and get train to Pasadena or even San Diego or Santa Barbara. Los Angeles is still a car city, but bus/metro is still possible.

This member has chosen to hide their location from non-Premium members.

Member feedback is only available to Premium members.
100% Premium

Elizabeth (Libby)

Los Angeles, California
Joined December 2020
Response rate 100%
LGBTQ+ friendly  
Travelling group
Member description
We are a family of four: married h/w and 11 y/o b/g twins. We love to travel all over the world but are ***currently looking for an exchange with no more than a three-hour time zone difference from Los Angeles***. We would like to do anything from 3-8 weeks starting as early as mid-May 2020. Duane is in the film industry (previz) and Elizabeth (Libby) is a former ICU RN and parenting coach. We have lived for six months at a time in Budapest, New Orleans, Vancouver, Toronto and outside Atlanta, for Duane's work. We are craving being back in nature right now and a change of scenery during the pandemic.
Login or Register to contact this member.

Desired Destinations


Can travel at any time

Availability calendar

Calendars are only available for Premium members.