#6052 Premium



Cozy artist bungalow in north Portland


House • Portland OR United States

    3 Guests  
    2 Bedrooms  
    2 Beds  
    1.5 Bathrooms  
    1 Car space 
    Primary home  

Exchange types accepted

    Simultaneous  

Statistics

Listed  February 2020
Views  81
Response rate  100%

General overview

We hope you will love our little house, which is filled with light and lovely things to look at, and set up for maximum comfort. Patrick is a painter who loves to cook and Cristin is a shop owner who is a dedicated vintage and design enthusiast, so our home is filled with artwork, books, pretty textiles, cozy bed linens, and so forth.

The space

The living and dining rooms get great light from the French doors and the big picture window. We listen to a lot of records, read a lot of books, and watch a lot of movies, so all of those here for your enjoyment. There is a wood burning fireplace in the living room and there is central heat and air conditioning for comfort. The master bedroom has a king sized bed dressed with down pillows & duvet, and flannel or linen sheets depending on the season. The bathroom has a lovely clawfoot bathtub (and shower). The front bedroom has a single bed that I often use as a daybed for daytime lounging. The kitchen is small but well appointed for people who like to cook. We have a covered porch on the back of the house, which gets used constantly in summer, spring, and autumn for eating and hanging out; there is a dining table with 4 chairs, and cushioned wicker sofa and chairs there as well. The porch overlooks our private fenced back yard.

Guest access

The living space of our home is all on one level, with a basement that has the half bathroom, washing machine, and dryer.

Notes

Patrick's painting studio is in the space that was formerly the attached garage, and it is not available for guest access.

Features

Air conditioning
Cupboard / drawers
Fireplace
Hair dryer
Heating
Iron
Washer
TV
WiFi
Workspace
Towels
Bed sheets
Fire extinguisher
Smoke alarms
First aid kit
Dishwasher
Clothes dryer
BBQ
Fridge
Oven
Microwave
Garden / yard
Covered porch / verandah

Travel styles

    Weekend
    Romantic
    Foodie
    Relaxing
    City
    Culture
    Cycling
    Good public transport

House rules

    Unsuitable for infants under 2
    Suitable for children ages 2-12
    Pets not allowed
    No smoking

Neighbourhood

Our street is quite peaceful, with friendly and quiet neighbors. We are half a block from two city parks, and half a block from a long road with both a paved sidewalk and bike lanes that runs along a bluff, from which you can have excellent views of Mount Hood, the Willamette River, the northwest hills of Portland,downtown, and lots of fabulous cloud formations. The St Johns neighborhood is just up the road; it has some great restaurant options, two movie theaters where you can have beer or wine & a meal while watching a film, and a lively Saturday farmer's market. Cristin's shop is on Mississippi Avenue, which is one of the best streets to get a feel for the city-it is densely packed with small locally owned shops, restaurants, bars, and music venues.

Getting around

We are half a block from two different Trimet city bus lines, as well as a main bike thoroughfare. There is a small well stocked grocery/wine/beer/deli market and a drugstore a 15 minute walk away, and bigger markets about a mile from the house. There are always plenty of taxis or Lyft cars available day or night. Our house is about 18 minutes drive from the airport and you can be in downtown Portland in as little as 15 minutes (depending on traffic). You could easily plan a stay here without renting a car, just using a combination of public transport and taxis to get around. Portland is one of the best food cities in the US and you can be at the coast or in the mountains in just over an hour's drive from here.


Feedback

Member feedback is unavailable to non-members and members without active listings.

Premium


Cristin

Portland, Oregon
Joined January 2020
Response rate 100%
LGBTQ+ friendly  
Travelling group
Member description
We are empty nesters with big plans to travel as much as we possibly can. Cristin owns a retail shop (it's called Flutter, and you should certainly visit it if you're in Portland) and Patrick is a bookkeeper and a painter. Being self employed means we work a lot, but we also have some flexibility to travel. We recently traveled to Italy for two weeks and are hoping to do more European and UK travel soon. We are also interested in other places on this continent, including New York, , New Mexico,California, New Orleans, Austin, Savannah, Marfa,Canada-okay, yes we have a long wish list! We haven't done home exchange yet, but we have been Airbnb guests for several years. Our friends who have done home exchange for years absolutely love it, and we are very excited to start.
Login or Register to contact this member.

Desired destinations


Open to any destination
Can travel at any time

London, UK
Dates flexible

United Kingdom
Dates flexible

New York, NY, USA
Dates flexible

New Orleans, LA, USA
Dates flexible

Hawaii, USA
Dates flexible

Marfa, TX 79843, USA
Dates flexible

Santa Fe, NM, USA
Dates flexible

Taos, NM 87571, USA
Dates flexible

Vancouver, BC, Canada
Dates flexible

Los Angeles, CA, USA
Dates flexible

Savannah, GA, USA
Dates flexible

Availability calendar

Calendars are hidden from non-members and members without active listings.