#3666 100% Trial Member

Family house, looking for New Years' 2019/2020


House • Voorburg Netherlands

    7 Guests  
    3 Bedrooms  
    6 Beds  
    3 Bathrooms  
    1 Car space 
    1 Car available  
  Primary home

Exchange types accepted

  Simultaneous  

Statistics

Listed  July 2019
Views  1144

General overview

Our house is the perfect base to explore the Netherlands. We have always loved the sandy North Sea beaches. Perfect to cool down on hot sunny days, but also a great place to unwind on a windy day :-) We prefer going there by bike, its a 30 min ride to the Scheveningen boulevard, but when we have the time, we enjoy taking the route through beautiful Meijendel, a protected natural area that borders the sea. This route gives you acces to the quiet beaches that cannot be accessed by car. The bikes (we have five, two adult bikes, a cargo bike that can transport up to four kids and also two smaller bikes that belong to our boys) take you to Leiden and Delft within an hour. These are very charming, medieval cities, small compared to Amsterdam but also less visited by tourists which makes them more attractive in my opinion. The Hague is very close and has some gorgeous museums for those who love art. And if you want to visit Amsterdam its 40 minutes away by train and can be done by bike, a nice ride through the countryside.

The space

The house itself is a 150 sq. m. family home built in the 80s. It is comfortable, kid proof and we love it :-) On the ground floor we have our living room and open kitchen. The space is dominated by our huge wooden table (seats 11). There are two sofas to relax and a corner with lots of toys for young kids to enjoy, currently there's a lot of duplo, puzzles and games. Downstairs, you will also find a toilet. We love our backyard full of flowers, including a swing, another table and a lounge. On the front, we have our private parking space and a place where we currently park our bikes (also at your disposal). We are planning to make a small garden there as well, it will probably happen spring 2019. The 1st floor is where we all sleep. Our 4 and 6 years old boys share a room on the front side of the house. It has a bunk bed, again los of toys and, according to them, most important: their Lego table!!! The place where they spend most of the rainy or colder afternoons building the most fantastic structures. There's another bed under the bunkbed: this room normally sleep3 2 but can accomodate 3. On the 1st floor is also the master bedroom with a double bed. Our 2 y.o. daughter is in the smaller room that currently has again a bed that has the possibility to transform into 2 separate beds.. The 1st floor has the bigger bathroom with a nice bath, a separate shower and enough space to wash. Again, we have a separate toilet here. On the 2nd floor we have another, smaller bathroom including a shower, a toilet and both the washing machine and the dryer. The smaller room there is in use by me for my sewing, I like to make clothes. It also gives you access to our balcony which is nice to enjoy a coffee on a sunny morning (we use it more often to dry the laundry). The bigger room is currently in use as my husbands' office but we also use it as a guest room: it has 2 beds. If you are not planning to use the beds there, we will probably put all our clothing there to make space in the closets for your stuff and lock this room. But we can discuss preparing it for you to use if you want to come with more than 7 persons.

Guest access

Living room and kitchen are on the ground floor. Sleeping rooms ons the 1st floor. Washing machine and second bathroom on the 2nd floor.

House rules

    Unsuitable for infants under 2
    Suitable for children ages 2-12
    Pets not allowed
    No smoking

Neighbourhood

Voorburg has the looks and feel of a village. It has a beautiful old and small city centre which has a few nice restaurants, bars and shops (fur funshopping!!! not the average but the nice stuff, fashion, but also beautiful toys, the best cheeses, a few excellent shops for buying wine...). We especially appreciate the bakery at 150 m. (fresh bread every morning!) and the wine specialist around the corner. Voorburg is situated along the Vliet, a canal that connects Voorburg to Leiden, Delft and Rotterdam. The Vliet offers a scenic and safe biking route that gives you acces to all these cities, but also various nice pick nick spots, places to play etc. Voorburg is part of a bigger urban area that contains the city of The Hague as well. The Hague has lots of museums, more restaurants, bars and a seaside area called Scheveningen. The medieval 'Binnenhof' is where the Dutch prime minister has his office and where Dutch parliament meets, There you will also find the Mauritshuis, home to Vermeers' 'girl with the pearl earring'.

Getting around

Shopping can be done by foot. There are a few shops just around the corner for bread, vegetables, meat etc. Approximately 1 km. away is the 'main street' of Voorburg with boutiques, some restaurants, a super market etc. The place is very well connected to public transportation with bus and tram stops within 10 mins. walking distance. We have traded our car before, but if you want you can really go everywhere by public transportation.

Map of Approximate Location


Feedback

This member has chosen to hide this section from non-members.
Trial Member

Wietske

Voorburg, the Netherlands
Member Since July 2019
Member description
I am mother of an active, young family of 5 that is always busy enjoying live. My husband Thom and I both combine parenthood with a job. Time is scarce and we try to spend most of our weekends and holidays together. That includes making all sorts of smaller trips to nearby beaches, parks, and playgrounds (all can be reached by bike, we often take the cargo bike for the kids). The cities of Leiden, the Hague, Delft and Rotterdam are close and can be visited by bike or public transportation (we are close to two major hubs). Amsterdam takes about 50 minutes by train. When we are at home, we like to play games which is obvious looking at the enormous amount of games we have gathered over the years. Also, I like to read (ask me about contemporary dutch literature if you'd like to prepare before you visit the Netherlands) and love knitting and sewing (especially for the kids). We have had some positive home exchange experiences allready and I have been an active member in the couchsurfing community. I have met the most lovely people that way and look forward to share my family house with other families. We are open to trades everywhere, obviously we prefer houses with lots of toys and space to play for our kids. Feel free to try, we are curious about lots of places :-)Ofcourse we will take care of your house like it's our own!
Travelling group
100% Response rate

100% Response

Login or Register to contact this member.

Desired Destinations

Availability calendar

This member has chosen to hide this section from non-members.