#2616 Premium



Spacious,family-friendly ranch home in Silicon Valley near mountains & ocean


House • Los Altos CA United States

    8 Guests  
    3 Bedrooms  
    5 Beds  
    2.5 Bathrooms  
    2 Car spaces 
    Primary home  

Exchange types accepted

    Simultaneous  
    Non-simultaneous  
    Non-reciprocal  
    Hospitality  

Statistics

Listed  August 2019
Views  1207
Response rate  100%

General overview

Our house is a spacious, warm and inviting California-style ranch home. It is in a safe and family-friendly neighborhood that is walking distance to an open space preserve and a short drive to dozens of other nature preserves, parks and many Pacific beaches. Just an hour north is San Francisco, which is an easy drive or can be reached by train. The town of Los Altos has many nice restaurants and shops and is in the heart of Silicon Valley. The weather is mild and nearly always sunny - perfect for hiking, biking and playing at the beach. We are just an hour north of Monterey Bay, with its scenic views and famous aquarium, a couple hours north of the Big Sur coast, and an hour away from the beach towns of Santa Cruz and Half Moon Bay. Throughout this whole area are more state and national forests than you could ever visit in one trip!

The space

Our house is an 1800 square foot home with 3 bedrooms and 3 bathrooms. The rooms are fairly spacious and in addition to the living room and dining room area, we have an extra room that is set up as a playroom. This room has a sofa that can be converted to a queen sized bed. The front yard is nice to sit in the morning and enjoy the sunshine. The backyard is very lush with a huge oak tree and many smaller palms and citrus trees. We have a sandbox and play area, a grill and patio table and a fire pit. It's a great place to enjoy evenings and the setting sun. Amenities: - Full-size washer/dryer - Iron and ironing board - Dishwasher - Microwave - Oven/stove - Hair dryer - Private high-speed wifi - TV through Apple TV with Netflix, Hulu, HBO, and other channels - Central air conditioning and heat - Kettle and French press coffee maker - Water filter/ice maker in fridge - Towels and sheets

Guest access

Guests enter through the front door, no stairs or steps.

Notes

- We have two friendly cats--Penny and Moonlight. They need to be fed twice per day and have their litter box scooped once per day. - No smoking - No parties or unapproved guests - The house is in a very quiet neighborhood with many families and older couples. Please be considerate of noise levels - There is parking in the driveway and might be space in the garage - We have several adult and children's bikes you are welcome to use

Features

Air conditioning
Cupboard / drawers
Hair dryer
Heating
Iron
Washer
TV
WiFi
Towels
Bed sheets
Fire extinguisher
Smoke alarms
Dishwasher
Clothes dryer
Fridge
Oven
Microwave

Travel styles

    Weekend
    Adventure
    Family
    Sport and leisure
    Relaxing
    Village
    Mountains
    Beach
    Hiking
    Cycling
    Last minute

House rules

    Suitable for infants under 2
    Suitable for children ages 2-12
    Pets not allowed
    No smoking

Neighbourhood

Our home is in a quiet neighborhood, mainly families and retired couples. It backs right up to Rancho San Antonio, an open space preserve with many miles of beautiful hiking. You can even hike up into the mountains and all the way to the ocean if you can hike that far! You can take a long walk or shorter bike ride to a nearby library and grocery stores, convenience stores and simple cafes. Or drive into Los Altos, Mountain View or the other surrounding towns for nice restaurants and bar, boutiques, etc. Great America is a short drive, as well as the museums related to Silicon Valley. We are about a 40 minute drive or a 1 hour train ride south of San Francisco.

Getting around

You will want a car to get around so you can visit the 63,000 acres of open space preserves as well as the many thousands more acres of area state and national parks. Public transportation does exist but is not terribly convenient.

This member has chosen to hide their location from non-members and members without active listings.

Feedback

Member feedback is unavailable to non-members and members without active listings.

Premium


Leah & Scott

Los Altos California USA
Joined May 2019
Response rate 100%
LGBTQ+ friendly  
Travelling group
Member description
We are Scott and Leah and we love traveling to new places, getting to know people and cultures, exploring nature and trying new food. We are fascinated at the different and beautiful ways people across the world live their lives. We've found that traveling with our children has allowed us to immerse ourselves a little more into a culture as we often end up at neighborhood playgrounds and other "off the beaten path" spots. We only moved to California recently, in January of 2020. With a new job and travel to see family, we are currently most interested in weekend exchanges to other areas in California and the West Coast of the USA. But long term, we want to see the world!
Login or Register to contact this member.

Desired destinations


Open to any destination

California, USA (Flexible)
Dates flexible
"Interested in weekend trips, possibly up to 4 days."

Oregon, USA (Flexible)
Dates flexible
"Interested in weekend trips, possibly up to 4 days."

Washington, USA (Flexible)
Dates flexible
"Interested in weekend trips, possibly up to 4 days."

Hawaii, USA (Flexible)
Dates flexible

Vancouver, BC, Canada (Flexible)
Dates flexible

Vancouver Island, British Columbia, Canada (Flexible)
Dates flexible

British Columbia, Canada (Flexible)
Dates flexible

Baja California, Mexico (Flexible)
Dates flexible

Baja California Sur, Mexico (Flexible)
Dates flexible

Nevada, USA (Flexible)
Dates flexible

Availability calendar

Calendars are hidden from non-members and members without active listings.