A West Coast Haven

House
Victoria BC Canada
5 Guests   3 Bedrooms   3 Beds   1.0 Bathroom   1 Car space 
Primary home  
Exchange type Simultaneous  Hospitality 
Listed April 2019
Views 293
Response rate 100%

We live in an area known for its wonderful neighborhood walking and secret paths. The University of Victoria is 2 km away and is fun to explore. Mount Doug Park (many people hike up this small "mountain" each day) and Mount Doug Beach are also nearby. There are several neighborhood restaurants and coffee shops within walking distance and others a short 5-10 minute drive away. Downtown Victoria -- 15 minutes by car or 30 minutes by bus -- has restaurants, bars, clubs, the Royal BC Museum, Victoria Art Gallery, and several movie theaters and playhouses. As the provincial capital, there are historical sites to explore. Golfing and cycling are enjoyed year round. Go to the Inner Harbour and you'll find whale watching, sailing, boating tours, and plenty of romantic views and street performers. In the summer, there are several nearby lakes for swimming and sunning. The island has it all: sailing, surfing, scuba diving, even caving. We think you'll love it here as much as we do. We'll do everything we can to make your stay enjoyable.

The space

The developer who built this neighborhood designed this house for his family. We've added a touch of funky art, glorious flooring, a grand cedar deck, and an inviting stone patio. Our home is a perfect nesting and resting place as you explore the beauty of Victoria and the island. Our home has two levels. We exchange the top level (1000 sq ft); we rent rooms to three university students on the lower level. Their living space is completely separate and self-contained, so if you'd like to meet them you'll have to seek them out, as they are very busy with their studies. A house manager oversees their living space when we travel, and he deals with all of the maintenance issues for both you and the students, so you don't have to. Our house is clean, beautiful, and super quiet. Porcelain and hardwood floors can be found throughout. The kitchen is large and a great spot to cook and relax. You will also enjoy our backyard wildlife including a family of deer and a wide variety of birds including finches, chickadees, hummingbirds, and a Cooper's hawk. We think you'll love it here as much as we do. One bedroom has a king bed. A second has another king bed which can be split into two single beds. And the third bedroom/office has a single bed.

Guest access

There are half a dozen steps leading to the front door. About a dozen steps, from the backyard, lead up to the large wrap-around porch which can also be accessed from a door through the kitchen/living room. We exchange the upper story of our home which, once you enter, is one level without stairs.

Notes

If you decide on a hospitality exchange, we can accommodate three people in two bedrooms. We also ask that if you're comfortable doing so, you feed and care for our 17 year old cat, Katara. If not, a neighbour can take care of this task.

Features

Air conditioning
Cupboard/drawers
Fireplace
Heating
Iron
Washer
TV
WiFi
Workspace
Towels
Bed sheets
Soap
Toilet paper
Fire extinguisher
Smoke alarms
Dishwasher
Clothes dryer
BBQ
Fridge
Oven
Microwave

House rules

Unsuitable for infants under 2
Suitable for children ages 2-12
Pets not allowed
No smoking

Neighbourhood

We're one block from a large park with a 3 km walking path, and a five-minute walk from a recreation centre that has an extensive swimming area and pool as well as weight room and exercise classes. Punch passes and daily admission are available for purchase. Two blocks aware are several restaurants (The Village, fish and chips, Dominos, StarBucks), and six blocks from a movie theater and three major grocery stores.

Getting around

The bus stop is a five minute walk away and will take you wherever you want to go including downtown in 25 to 30 minutes. Our neighbourhood and Victoria in general has a well-established system of bicycle lanes, paths, and bike-friendly streets. A bicycling map for Victoria is available online. There are several car rental agencies in town and taxis for hire (most which use hybrid cars).

Login or Register to see this home's location on a map.


Login or Register to see reviews for this home.

Lauri and Chris

Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
Joined March 2019
Response rate 100%
Travelling group
Member description
We are a professional couple who enjoy traveling and sharing our home. Our goal when visiting other countries and cities/towns, is to immerse ourselves in the community. Chris is a business consultant and Lauri works in open education. We are musicians in our spare time, like to stay fit, and enjoy learning something new everyday. Our two sons are grown and might join us occasionally when we travel.

Desired destinations


Open to any destination

Seoul, South Korea
Dates flexible

2450 Massachusetts Ave NW, Washington, DC 20008, USA
Dates flexible

Washington, DC, USA
Dates flexible

San Juan Island, Washington 98250, USA
Dates flexible

Login or Register to see availability and make an offer for this home.