#1658 Premium



Lightfilled house close to Yarra Valley wineries and Dandenong Ranges


    5 Guests  
    4 Bedrooms  
    3 Beds  
    2.5 Bathrooms  
    3 Car spaces 
    Primary home  

    Simultaneous  
    Non-simultaneous  
    Hospitality  

Listed  February 2019
Views  1192
Response rate  17%

We live in an airy, rustic styled architect-designed solid brick home with mountain views in a treed environment. We are 25 km east and 30 minutes drive from central Melbourne with easy freeway access. Croydon village has a train station and buses, as well as many lovely cafes and shops. We are close to the Yarra Valley with its world-famous wineries, the Dandenong Ranges with their tree fern gullies and the Mornington Peninsula beaches.

Walls of glass throughout the house enable a connection with the beautiful garden from every room. Airconditioning in the family living area/ kitchen and main bedroom ensures thermal comfort and we also have a wood burning stove for chilly winter days. There are two living areas with large screen TVs, a separate dining room and casual dining adjoining the kitchen. The master wing at the front of the house contains a king bed and the adjoining ensuite bathroom contains a Coway bidet toilet seat as well as shower and vanity. This area also contains a study which houses the electronics. Beyond the family room, the other bedrooms contain a queen bed and a single with trundle whilst the family bathroom has a bath with shower over and a vanity with lots of storage. There is also a separate toilet. We have a large library of books and many DVDs/Bluerays; we are also connected to Foxtel. The 1,000 sqm garden is full of native and exotic plants and there is a paved, covered courtyard off the kitchen adjoining a sunny, stone walled entertaining area, perfect for a pre-dinner drink.

There are no internal stairs, but there is one step access from outside. There is a front door and a back door through the laundry leading onto the clothes line and vegetable garden. The house has a sliding window wall leading onto the side veranda from the family room and another one leading onto the vine covered terrace and courtyard off the kitchen.

Our newly redesigned large garden is full of interesting and rare plants and is very easy care. We have herb and vegetable patches as well as lemon and lime trees. There is a double carport and room to park in the drive as well. We also have two beautiful grey cats who have their own cat flap for easy access.

Air conditioning
Cupboard / drawers
Fireplace
Hair dryer
Heating
Iron
Washer
TV
WiFi
Workspace
Towels
Bed sheets
Fire extinguisher
Smoke alarms
First aid kit
Dishwasher
BBQ
Fridge
Oven
Microwave

    Long term
    Family
    Romantic
    Sport and leisure
    Foodie
    Relaxing
    Luxury
    Village

    Unsuitable for infants under 2
    Suitable for children ages 2-12
    Pets not allowed
    No smoking

Our immediate neighbourhood is full of towering trees, birdsong and mountain views. Croydon is a charming village full of cafes and shops including all banks and a post office - we even have a craft brewery. The shopping available in a 5km radius is truly remarkable, including a fabulous patisserie run by a French couple for more than 40 years, great bottle shops and vegan-friendly dining options .There are lots of beautiful areas for walking or just exploring this lovely part of Melbourne and the natives are very friendly.

Our house is a 20 minute walk or 5 minute drive from the train and bus station and central Croydon. We are only 5 minutes drive from the Eastern and Peninsula link freeways, offering access to all parts of Melbourne.

This member has chosen to hide their location from non-members and members without active listings.

Member feedback is unavailable to non-members and members without active listings.

Premium


Astrid

Croydon, Victoria, Australia
Joined February 2019
Response rate 17%
LGBTQ+ friendly  
Travelling group
Member description
My husband and I are in our sixties, both recently retired after busy working lives and would like to spend the next few years getting to know people and neighbourhoods throughout Europe and the UK. We are well travelled and interested in the arts, music of all genres, cooking and gardening. My husband and I both had careers in media before branching out into different areas: I am still a consulting fundraising professional but Ron now concentrates on gardening. We look forward to meeting like-minded people of all ages and spreading our wings!
Login or Register to contact this member.

Desired destinations


Open to any destination
Can travel at any time

Netherlands (Flexible)
Dates flexible

United Kingdom (Flexible)
Dates flexible

France (Flexible)
Dates flexible

Scandinavia (Flexible)
Dates flexible

Italy (Flexible)
Dates flexible

United Kingdom
Oct 1 - 19, 2019
"We are planning an exchange in Holland on 20 October so would like to exchange with someone in the UK for 2-3 weeks prior."

Availability calendar

Calendars are hidden from non-members and members without active listings.